Maritime Law

Maritime law are laws, rules, regulations and international agreements that governs the activities at sea and other water ways. Cameroon is situated in a strategic position which offers marine services to other African nations such as Chad, Central African Republic and Congo. This has had a positive impact on her marine activities making her ports to be very busy. There are four ports and five terminals in Cameroon. These include:


  • Port of Douala
  •  Port of Limbe 
  • Port of Kribi, deep-sea port 
  • Port of Tiko


  • Kome Kribi 1 Marine Terminal 
  • Moudi Marine Terminal 
  • Kole Oil Terminal 
  • Ebome Marine Terminal 
  • Limboh Terminal 

There are however laws which regulates activities in this sector. These laws have a National, Regional and international flavour. Some of them includes:

  • The United Nations Convention on the Law of the Sea which was signed in 1982 and came into force in 1994;
  • The Economic Community of Central African states (CEMAC) Merchant Shipping Code of 22nd July 2012, which regulates maritime activities in six Central African states and Cameroon inclusive.
  • Merchant Marine Community Code of 3rd august 2001

Our team have a vast knowledge of the marine laws and their applications. We provide written agreements such as contract for carriage of cargo, charter parties between ship owners and charterers and storage agreements.

In every business relationship, dispute is inevitable. We have handled disputes such as charter party disputes, damage of cargo and contamination of cargo. Ship arrest comes in as either a conservatory measure or an executory measure.